Weekly Update: 08.25.10

I try to post these on Sundays but the last couple weeks I haven’t gotten to it. I would like to say I have been busy but it really just boils down to the fact that I don’t have  a lot to say. I had a lot of steam over the last couple months. I was doing something new and I was excited about it. the blog, the new direction, the drive. Well its not all so new anymore and I have found myself sinking back into old ruts. Secluding myself from people and God, just going about my business. Honestly all this relationship stuff is a bit exhausting and I realize how much easier it is to do nothing. Anyway I want to be faithful to my plan of updating weekly, mostly for me, so I can look back on all of this and maybe see some patterns or growth or cycles or something. I would like to see something about myself and God and my relationship with him and his other children through all this. So I will continue to post what is going on even if the answer is “nothing.”

Last week George and I met for coffee and talked about Romans 1 and 2. We are going to continue reading and studying through Romans together over coffee on a weekly basis. I am excited about that. At the bottom of all this, I am really just happy to be spending time with my brother again on a semi-regular basis.

We had a busy weekend. Saturday we went to a house warming for Stephanie’s sister and her husband. It was pretty awesome. There was A LOT of great food and that always makes me happy! There were quite a few kids and our girls got to play with some other kids which they (well really just Gracie) love.

Sunday was a bbq (for you southerners thats a cookout) at Stephanie’s parents. Again LOTS of good food so Dan(I) was happy! It was nice, and we got to visit with Stephanie’s cousin and his wife who live in CT. They are getting ready to have a baby and we were able to give them a ton of newborn clothes that Danny never fit into since he was born the size of a 3 month old! They were really glad so that was pretty cool.

The last couple of days have been pretty mellow. I am meeting George tomorrow for our coffee thing.

Stephanie’s grandparents are getting ready to head out to Ukraine for a month of ministry there.

We have another busy weekend (this one with my side of the family, but still lots of food).  A lobster bake on Saturday, and a family reunion at the beach on Sunday. That’ll be pretty cool.

It looks like the Greek study group is going to be me and my brother-in-law which I am still pretty excited about and I think will be a lot of fun.

A couple of friends that live relatively close to us (about an hour away) are starting to talk about gathering as an organic body. I am excited to find out more about what they are doing.

Thats about it. Stay tuned and please keep praying.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

Leave a Reply

