Organic vs Institutional (in me?)

When it comes to the church I normally think of the issues as organic vs institutional; my role is to pick a side and through careful thought and prayer hope to make the right decision. I am starting to see things differently.

The issue of relationships among believers at the core is an issue of an individuals heart. The way I interact with my fellow believers has nothing to do with this or that church model; it has everything to do with my love for God and others. let me clarify this with some examples:

a … person

Institutional

Organic

Selfish will use this as a place to make himself feel good through acts of religiousity will use this as a place to do what he wants and not be tied down by the desires of others
Loving will care for and reach out to those around her will care for and reach out to those around her
Power Hungry will use this venue to exercise authority over other believers (especially if he can become ordained clergy) will use this venue as an excuse to free himself from submitting to his fellow brothers and sisters
Serving will serve and care for those around her will serve and care for those around her

I think I may be on to something here. More posts along these lines coming soon…

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

4 responses to “Organic vs Institutional (in me?)

  • Alan Knox

    Very good! Yes, I think you are on to something.

    -Alan

  • Fred

    I think you’re on to something too. It seems to me that if a person is “doing” organic church for reasons of selfishness or power hunger, they will soon leave an organic church, either because they can’t stand being around those who are interested in love and service or because they realize that the church doesn’t meet their “needs” any more than than the institutional church did.

  • Bob

    It is all about motive and heart as you have pointed out. A selfish person is selfish regardless of the setting. Out of the heart comes the things that will defile a person.
    I posted something along this line and thought you might find it interesting. http://altchurch.blogspot.com/2009/02/religion-vs-relationship.html

  • Dan Allen

    thanks for the comments!

    Fred

    “It seems to me that if a person is “doing” organic church for reasons of selfishness or power hunger, they will soon leave an organic church.” Agreed. What I have seen as many house churches “failing” was part of what led me to think more about the heart and less about the models.

    Bob

    I really liked your post. I am sure that there are many things we could add to the religion vs. relationship list.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

