The Good News in Acts 1

As I study through Acts and how the early followers of Christ shared the “good news” I am going to be using the blog to do a lot of thinking out loud (or on screen?) so the next thing I want to do is share each passage that I am looking at and give a rough outline of what I think it says. The goal of this is twofold: the first goal is to structure my thoughts more clearly so that I can look at them and compare them and make sense of them (hopefully) and the second goal is to get input from others on things that I may have missed or am not understanding properly so please feel free to interact with these posts.

Having said that I want to first look at two sections in Acts 1 that aren’t really so much examples of sharing the good news but I think are very important to the subject.

Acts 1:3 – After his suffering, he [Jesus] showed himself to these men and gave many convincing proofs that he was alive.

and

Acts 1:21-22 – Therefore it is necessary to choose one of the men who have been with us [the apostles] the whole time the Lord Jesus went in and out among us, beginning from John’s baptism to the time when Jesus was taken up from us. For one of these must become a witness with us of his resurrection.

It seems that in the first passage we see that it was important to Jesus that his followers know that he is REALLY alive. While he walked the earth before the ascension he apparently spent time giving many proofs that he was indeed alive. The second passage explains why the apostles wanted another to take Judas’ place: so that there would be another witness with them of the resurrection. Clearly the reality and truthfulness of the resurrection was important to both Jesus and his apostles. This I think will be seen to strongly influence the way in which the good news is shared throughout the book of Acts.

Thoughts?

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

4 responses to “The Good News in Acts 1

  • Marshall

    wholeness (shalom) held more significance in Jerusalem back 2,000 years ago. It was significant to “replace” one of the twelve who was missing; eleven would be incomplete.
    500 brethren were blessed to see and know that Jesus is really alive.
    [I Corinthians 15:6]

  • Alan Knox

    Dan,

    I think this is going to be a great series. I like the way that it’s starting out. It’s amazing when we start looking at Scripture for what it actually says instead of looking to Scripture to prove something.

    So, in chapter 1 of Acts, the focus is placed on the resurrection. I’m wondering if this focus will continue…

    -Alan

  • Dan Allen

    Marshall

    Thanks for explaining that about first century Jewish culture. What I find interesting in Acts 1 is not necessarily that they felt the need to replace Judas, but why they wanted to: “one of these must become a witness with us of his resurrection.”

    Obviously the body of people who saw Jesus alive was larger than the 11 remaining disciples or else they would not have had a pool to choose Judas’ replacement from since being witness to the resurrection was part of the requirements.

    Alan

    What I have found amazing is what I have learned by asking “what does Scripture say” in areas that I always assumed I knew what it said: i.e. the church, evangelism, discipleship, and so on. I really want the Scripture to drive this study and hopefully my part will only be to just observe what is there. *Spoiler Alert* I think the theme of resurrection will continue through Acts. Thanks for the comment!

    Dan

  • Marshall

    keeping with what the Scriptures say,
    vs 20. For it is written in the scroll of the Psalms, “Let his house become desolate; let no one be residing in it, ” and “Let his supervision be taken by another.”
    vs 21-22. Therefore…
    “why they wanted to: ‘one of these must become a witness with us of his resurrection.’”? brother Alan, may this be addressed?
    Do these 11 want to do because [motive] it was so written to be done?

Leave a Reply

