The New Symbol

If they ever decide that the cross symbol needs to go I have a great idea for a new symbol of the Christian faith: NOTHING (representing all the negations: no one, nowhere, never, and so on…). Think about it, in a way it represents some of the most critical truths of Christianity. As Christians, who God has chosen and Christ has redeemed:

  • What did we do to become right with God?
  • What do we lack?
  • What can separate us from the love of God?
  • Where do we need to go to be in God’s presence?
  • Who do we need to interact with God on our behalf?
  • When are we alone?

And most importantly – the reason we have hope and joy and peace with God:

  • On that first day of the week when the two women went to anoint Jesus’ body what did they find in the tomb?

Are you thankful for NOTHING? I sure am!

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

8 responses to “The New Symbol

  • David King

    Dan, I like your ‘Nothing” Symbol!
    Never: Heb. 13:5 “….God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”
    Nothing: Joh 15:5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.
    Keep it up Dan…maybe start a nothing church…..:O)
    Requirement for membership: Only believe John 3:16
    Responsibility: Love God and each other….covers all the bases
    Duty: Just show up and give it all to Jesus because He gave it all up for U…True worship
    Function: Exercise your gifts…Just Do It!
    Result: Joy and Peace that reflects Christlikeness that drawn people to Him 1 Peter 3:15

  • Dan Allen

    Dave

    Great thoughts! The Nothing Church. I like that! Hope all is well in Ukraine!

    Dan

  • Fred

    I’m thankful for nothing! 🙂 But, since I have a tattoo of a cross on one shoulder, should I get a tattoo of nothing on the other one?

  • Dan Allen

    Fred

    I’ve already got my nothing tattoo. They go for a good price and are far less painful then the cross ones!

    Dan

  • Mark

    Great thoughts, Dan. I’ve been following your blog, but in much shorter snippets of time so I haven’t been able to comment.

    Mark

  • Dan Allen

    Mark

    Glad to hear from you! No worries, we’re all busy. Glad you enjoyed the post!

    Dan

  • Alan Knox

    “For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, so that no human being might boast in the presence of God. (1 Corinthians 1:26-29 ESV) (emphasis added)

    -Alan

  • Dan Allen

    Alan

    Yet another great example! I wonder if we could think of even more…

    Dan

Leave a Reply

