Checklist

Before I say something I should make sure it is:

  • encouraging not destructive
  • Christ-centered not Dan-centered
  • unifying not divisive
  • loving not hateful
  • understanding not judgmental
  • kind not hurtful
  • useful not just noise
  • Understandable not overly-complicated
  • God-glorifying not Self-aggrandizing

I believe following this checklist may reduce the amount I speak by at least 75%!

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

4 responses to “Checklist

  • Marshall

    working off a custom list can be trouble… As putting the list to the words of Jesus Christ… sometimes destructive, sometimes hateful of sin, sometimes judging, often speaking things not understood, sometimes uncomfortable (hurtful?).
    Galatians 5:22-23 & I Corinthians 13:4-8 make a good “list” to remind, while I should stay open to whatever the Spirit directs.

  • Dan Allen

    Marshall

    You make a good point. While my list is not a quatation of specific Scriptures I believe it is based on the principles of loving others and glorifying God (which are indeed Biblical). Speaking hatefully, hurtfully, and judgmentally is not what I feel I am called to do. While the things I say may oppose what other people believe I hope that I would share it in a spirit of love and kindness, with a desire to help them and glorify God.

    Thanks for the comment.

    Dan

  • Fred

    People say I’m quiet. One reason I am is that I try to speak according to the same kind of criteria that you use. I’ve found that a lot of the things I thought were so important and just had to be said, really weren’t.

  • Dan Allen

    Fred

    I hope someday people will say I’m quiet.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

