Thinking about thinking about…

The other day Alan Knox wrote a post, Jesus is Sharper than any Two-Edged Sword about how it would make sense to understand “The Word of God” in Hebrews 4:12. I thought this was a pretty cool and probably more accurate way to understand this passage, but that isn’t really what this post is about.

I had NEVER even thought that Hebrews 4:12 could refer to anything but the Bible. I hadn’t even thought to think about this assumption. That is what this post is about. I have talked some about bringing your presuppositions to the table when reading and trying to understand the Bible, but to what degree does this happen without us even knowing? If Alan had not posted about Hebrews 4:12 I can pretty confidently say I would probably NEVER have even thought to think about what “the Word of God” meant. I knew what it meant, at least I thought I did, but it was not as if I had made a dogmatic stand on an issue, I just thought that was how it was period. How many things do we think this about? How many things do we gloss over based on our worldview and presuppositions? How can we know? What can we do when we admit that we can’t know?

I am encouraged by people like Alan and all the others who have showed me things I would have never even known to look for. That has been the biggest way to grow my understanding, by interacting with other believers. Maybe the answer is to really listen and try to learn from others because maybe when we all go at this together someone might think to think about something you never thought of.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

One response to “Thinking about thinking about…

  • Fred

    I had never thought of that verse in that way either. I was taught growing up, and in Bible college, that while different people might interpret Scripture differently, there was really only one correct way to see it. That was usually the fundamentalist Baptist way. I’m thankful for Alan, you, and others who have broadened my perspective.

    Sometimes, when I read some of these things, I slap my forehead and say, “Duh. Now it makes sense.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

