Trust

Trust Christ. Simple to say. Difficult to do. Peter sees Jesus walking out in the middle of the ocean and he forgets the waves, the wind; he only sees Jesus. He wants to go to Him. He walks out of the boat, onto water, yes water! He stands there for a minute but he starts to get distracted from Jesus; he starts to notice the storm, and he starts to sink. That’s what I do everyday. I see Jesus overcome all my crap all the time: my financial woes, my hurts and pains, my doubts and fears; he has always taken care of them for me, but everyday I wake up thinking I’m going to drown, thinking that this will be the time that Jesus lets me down. It’s been a lucky streak. Things have worked out well for a time, but there is no reason to believe that will keep going. How ridiculous it sounds, but how true of my heart. Those are my thoughts, that is my struggle: Trust Christ. thankfully he holds out His hand and saves Peter in spite of Peter’s doubt. He doesn’t just leave him there to drown in his lack of faith. He pulls him up and says “why did you doubt?” He saves me from drowning everyday, why do i doubt? Trust Christ. Simple to say. Difficult to do.

Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea.
And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.
But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”
And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”
So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.
But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”
And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” – From Matt 23

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

6 responses to “Trust

  • Stephanie Allen

    thank you for writing this. i love you.

  • Fred

    I know the feeling. When things are going great, and God is blessing outwardly, I sometimes think, “When will it hit the fan? This can’t last forever.” I forget that even in the tough times, God has blessed and I have been drawn closer to him.

    • Dan Allen

      Fred

      How true. It always seems like doubt. When it is going well we wonder when it will stop and when it is difficult we think there is no hope. Maybe someday we will learn to look at Jesus and not the storms of life!

      Thanks for the thoughtful comment!

      Dan

  • Alan Knox

    Dan,

    You latest post about trust (“Wind and Sea”) reminded me that I wanted to comment on this post. We recently (4 months ago?) finished studying through Matthew. We took it very slow (probably too slow), so it took us 2 years or so to work through it. One of the things that I noticed during our study (and something that truly astonished me) was that Jesus often spoke of “little faith” and “great faith”. These are the passages about “little faith”: Matthew 6:30, 8:26, 14:31, 16:8, 17:20. Here are the passages about “great faith”: Matthew 8:10, 15:28. It was amazing to notice who had “little faith” and who had “great faith.” I even wrote a post about it called Little Faith or Great Faith. Anyway, thanks for the post. This is something that I always need to be reminded about.

    -Alan

Leave a Reply

