Worship and Faith

Yesterday I proposed that worship was a constant act of surrendering one’s life to God. When I was looking at passages that dealt with worship I found something interesting in Matthew:

And behold, a leper came and worshiped Him, saying, “Lord, if You are willing, You can make me clean.” -Matt 8:2

While He spoke these things to them, behold, a ruler came and worshiped Him, saying, “My daughter has just died, but come and lay Your hand on her and she will live.” – Matt 9:18

Then she came and worshiped Him, saying, “Lord, help me!” – Matt 15:25

On these three occurrences it seems that asking Jesus for help is equated with worship. Why is that? Maybe it has to do with faith. They believed that Jesus could provide for their needs, they did not doubt even though their needs were pretty extreme: cure my leprosy, bring my dead daughter back to life, heal my daughter from demon-possession. They recognized Jesus’ role and also their own. Does this have anything to do with worship? Is worship simply recognizing the power and authority of Christ and submitting ourselves in faith to that? I would love to hear your thoughts.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

3 responses to “Worship and Faith

  • Marshall

    And behold, a leper came and bowed down to the ground before Him, saying, “Lord, if You are willing, You can make me clean.” -Matt 8:2

    While He spoke these things to them, behold, a ruler came and bowed down to the ground before Him, saying, “My daughter has just died, but come and lay Your hand on her and she will live.” – Matt 9:18

    Then she came and bowed down to the ground before Him, saying, “Lord, help me!” – Matt 15:25

  • Fred

    We worship what is most important to us, so I would agree that worship is recognizing the authority of Christ and submitting to him. We are saying that Jesus is more important to us than anything else.

    I wonder what that says about what passes for worship in many churches.

  • Sol Michaels

    “Bowed down to the ground”

    If you look in the old testament, the word translated worship is only translated worship when it has to do with God. (I think). The same word is used between humans too in the old testament. But then it is translated as quoted above.

    So maybe we make the word worship into more than it was meant to be, glorifying the word.

    I also tried putting a few things together from Hebrews (very poorly) if you want to look at it and improve on it. (http://lookingforchurch.wordpress.com/2010/08/30/worship/)

    I would suspect you’re way ahead of me here though.

Leave a Reply

