Worship: What it is

So based on the last two posts I would like to give a working definition of worship (I say working because I am far from having a sure and solid understanding of this):

  • Christian worship is a spiritual act that happens when followers of Jesus, through whom interaction with the Father is made possible, surrender their lives in humility and faith to their God who they recognize as powerful and holy.

I tried only to include elements that I gleaned from the passages we looked at in the last two posts although I am aware that there are many other passages that deal with Christian Worship I felt that introducing them without explanations to my reasoning (like I gave in the last two posts) would be confusing and misleading. Having said that I would like to break down my stated definition:

  • I use Christian Worship because there are many objects of worship out there, false gods, material possessions, whatever. We are dealing specifically with how Christians worship the true God
  • I say spiritual act because as yesterday’s post explained both Paul and Jesus explain New Testament worship as something spiritual as opposed to some physical ritual or place
  • Followers of Jesus may be redundant since I already stated that I was discussing “Christian Worship” but I felt that it was important to express who actually participated in true worship although one might say that following Jesus IS in itself the act of worship, I would not be opposed to that statement.
  • I state Through whom interaction with the Father is possible because according to Jesus’ conversation with the Samaritan woman in John we see a connection between the Messiah and true worship. This idea is repeatedly expressed throughout the New Testament especially when we see the curtain in the temple being torn at Jesus’ death.
  • According to Paul and supported by the rest of the New Testament it appears that worship is an act of surrender, not just of a day or certain times, but of our whole lives
  • Humility and Faith express the right understanding of both God and man. Humility recognizes that we are incapable of satisfying God and Faith recognizes that God is powerful and holy and is therefore able to take care of all our needs both spiritual and physical.

So based on what you have studied and what I have stated in the last couple of posts what do you think of this definition? Does it miss the point? Is it too simplistic? Is it lacking any important elements?

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

2 responses to “Worship: What it is

  • Fred

    The only thing missing in your definition is a kickin’ worship band. 🙂

    I think that definition pretty much wraps it all up. There may be details that may be different for different folks, but it’s a good overall statement.

  • Marshall

    So based on what you have studied and what I have stated in the last couple of posts what do you think of this definition? Does it miss the point? Is it too simplistic? Is it lacking any important elements?

    Christian Worship is not redundant if you are seeking some disambiguation. But, I cannot tell if you are! {grin}

    possibly, if you may also come to better define spiritual act. Do you mean a physical action that is done in spirit, or a mystical act?

    for Humility and Faith, is their room for the power of God to come to a man (as like the Spirit descended upon Christ at His baptism) so that we may worship the Father (in spirit and truth) as Jesus then did?

Leave a Reply

