When It Couldn’t Be Worse

Generally my approach to hardship is to say something like “hey, it could be worse; I could be that guy, or have that problem.” or something like “I have been greatly blessed: I have food, a nice home, a great job, and a wonderful family,” and this ultimately means the same thing: it could be worse.

But what about the guy who it couldn’t be worse for? What about the guy who says “i would rather anything but this” or the guy who can’t think of anybody who is in a worse situation? The guy at the bottom?

At that point we see what we really have, the only thing that matters: redemption and resurrection. We also see how greatly we value this, what it means to us. Am I hopeless at this point? Do I curse God at this point? Or do I cling more closely to Him, and lean wholly on the great blessing of resurrection, the hope and peace of knowing that I have all I need, even when I don’t have the other things that are most important to me?

When we look at how things could be worse we miss the point. When we see that there is nothing that could take away our life in Christ we get the point.

This is hard to practice. This shows us where we are and what we really believe.

But let us who are of the day be sober, putting on the breastplate of faith and love, and as a helmet the hope of salvation.

that having been justified by His grace we should become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

2 responses to “When It Couldn’t Be Worse

  • Marshall

    A “Job” moment for us.

  • David P King

    Hi Dan,

    When It Couldn’t Be Worse

    I agree with you “when could it be worse”? However, as you know,,,THERE IS HOPE BRO! It’s hard to grasp that hope, but it’s as alive and our resurrected Lord is. He is in the trial, He is right there with us as we face and walk through the awefullness of sin. Of course, as you know, every ones has trials and troubles in this life. Jesus said so; “In this world you will have trouble… Be of good cheer…I have overcome the world.” However, right now, “When It Couldn’t Be Worse.” When my “When It Couldn’t Be Worse” came along, to me it was like death that would never go away. I was sick in my gut, fire in my chest, couldn’t think, couldnt understand. Day after day. Why me, why now, why this? I thought God wasn’t interested in my little world, just the “Big Stuff.” However, I was blessed to have a wonderful wife who reminded me that God was, is and always will be interested in every aspect of our life here on earth. After all He planned it and will carry us through the fire. Of course I was WRONG!!

    Reminds me of a trip on the Trans Siberian Railway I took across Far East Russia once. The train was making a long turn, so I could see the the train cars ahead of me as well as the surrounding landscape out my window. As I looked ahead, I noticed a huge fire, forest fire (I have a picture that I took out my window as we went through the flames) and the train seemed to be going right through the flames….and it did! As my car came to the fire, the entire car was engulfed in the flames. Will we make it? Will our car be consumed by the flames? Will we die? Well all of the sudden the thought came to me that the engineers in the front of the train had “Been there done that.” They knew what to expect and therefore were ready to keep going through the fire because they knew the passenger cars would be safe inside.one can.

    Reminds me of I Corinthians 10:13. No trial is new to man (somebody has faced something similar). But God is faithful, He will not allow us to tested beyond what we can bare. He will MAKE A WAY OUT, So that we can stand up under it. BTW when I look back at my fiery trials, as painful as they were then, The Lord did carry me through to the other side, just like being on that train through the fire. Hold on bro, Hold on to God’s promises, PRAY for His strength and wisdom. Some how He will carry us all through this “When It Couldn’t Be Worse.”

    Your bud,

Leave a Reply

