Thank You

I would like to thank everyone who has been praying for us and sending us encouraging emails and calling us and everything to let us know that you are thinking about us. The issue that came up has mostly been resolved and things are settling down for us. All the struggles with stress and fear and worry have really subsided and we have been trying to rest and move on.

The other day Stephanie and I were talking about how I hadn’t blogged in a while, also we talked about how we hadn’t been gathering with the folks we had been getting together with on Saturday nights. The conversation made me think about some things that I really preferred not to, but things that I really had to deal with myself on.

The reason I stopped blogging and spending time with other believers at first was due to the fact that I really didn’t want to interact with other people through that time. The things that were going on were difficult and honestly I just wanted to shut myself away from everyone else, so I did, so WE did. Interestingly during our conversation I mentioned how I was surprised that certain people hadn’t made more of an effort to reach out to us, yet at the same time I didn’t want to be reached out to.

As time passed and things started to work out I was really convicted about the way I had shutdown from everyone outside of our home during this time. I thought a lot about how in reality, despite all my big talk and big theology the truth is that when it mattered I didn’t want community, I wanted to be left alone. Those thoughts and struggles got me feeling pretty hypocritical about everything I had been writing so I stopped writing and haven’t even looked at my blog in over a month.

There were lots of other things Stephanie and I talked about during this conversation, but I just wanted to relate that part to the people who read this blog, to the people who have expressed their concerns for our family, and to the people who have demonstrated the genuine love of Christ to our family during our struggles. Thank you for being there for us, thank you for reading my thoughts and struggles with being a member of the body of Christ and please continue to pray for us as we seek to demonstrate the love of Christ as part of his body.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

15 responses to “Thank You

  • Alan Knox

    Thanks for the update and the openness. The best way to move forward in community with others is to recognize your own reluctance towards community. Don’t stop now!

    -Alan

    • Dan Allen

      Thanks Alan

      I guess at this point it just really changes my thinking from “if there were only other people who wanted to do this” to “do I really want to do this?” and since I’m not there yet the other question is: how do I get there?

      Dan

      • Alan Knox

        How do you get there? One day and one relationship at a time?

        I think that everyone (from time to time and in different ways) is reluctant to share their lives with others. Recognizing this in yourself is a HUGE step forward. Don’t give up on yourself now, and don’t give up on others later.

        -Alan

  • Fred

    It’s good to see you back in the land of the living. 🙂 I’ve found that one of the hardest things to do is to want to be around others when I’m going through some struggles. I don’t know why, but it seems the natural instinct is to hide.

    • Dan Allen

      Fred

      Thanks for the comment and the email awhile back. That was really encouraging!

      Its good to know that I’m not the only one who wants to hide during hard times.

      Dan

  • Jon

    I see a lot of truth in what you are saying. Often community isn’t modeled very well. When things get tough, people often move on. However if community ties were as strong as family ties, there may be times you wish you weren’t family, but you know it’s not really an option, and you work through it. I pray you have some family type relationships that won’t let you go, even when you want to.

    • Dan Allen

      Jon

      I think you are right on about family type relationships, I do not have those with many people and the few I have them with are part of my family. I hope to grow in this area and learn how to have that close knit relationship with other believers.

      Dan

      • Bob

        You know Dan we need to change that. How about we get together after the holidays for Coffee? Perhaps we could meet some place in between Portland and Auburn? Drop me an email bro.

        Bob

      • Bob

        My previous comment was to a subsequent comment of yours. Who’s on first?

  • Jason

    Dude, the last post I read of yours was the one from Oct 16th. I have 485 unread blogs on my feed reader right now. All that to say, sorry, I didn’t know about all that went on with you all. I hope things have worked out for the advance of the gospel through you. I know that when that kind of stuff gets started, the government continually drags things out to everyone’s detriment. Sorry yall had to go through that. Will be praying for you guys!

    Tell Stephanie that her guest post was awesome too; thanks to her for her transparency, I know it will minster to others.

    Lord bless and keep you and cause His face to shine upon you and give you peace,

    • Dan Allen

      Thanks for the comment Jason, I am glad that we are able to stay in touch and that you continue to hold me and my family up in your prayers. I hope someday that you will be able to meet my wife and kids. They have heard lots about you and how God used you in my life.

      Dan

  • Bob

    I wondered what was going on with you. I have been in prayer for you as I pray for all the saints in Maine that we may all stand together as one. As best I can, I stand with you in Christ.

    • Dan Allen

      Bob

      although we have never met in person I am very encouraged by your interaction on this blog and love knowing that there are others in the state who are trying to embody the love of Christ in their community.

      Thank you for your prayers.

      Dan

  • Community and Trials | The Assembling of the Church

    […] example, Dan wrote a post called “Thank You” explaining how this struggle helped him understand his own desire and need for community. […]

  • Ben

    I’ve been catching up on your blogs, and man, I think you guys are doing more for the body than you know. I’m like you, I hate being around people when I’m hurting. When my sister died a couple years ago I abhorred answering the phone because I knew it was just gonna be another sympathy call. I’d rather saw my other thumb off than get those kinds of calls. I know that’s wrong, and selfish, and perhaps a little self destructive, but honestly it’s hard to desire community in tragedy. Who wants to be crowded by a bunch of people offering awkward sympathetic comments and stuff when your world is falling apart? I’m pretty much like, if you don’t have something awesome to say right now, please leave me alone and just let me bleed. Granted, I’m awful at this community stuff, but I get where you’re coming from. Your honesty and transparency cut right to my soul and minister to it in some pretty deep and profound ways. I appreciate it man.

Leave a Reply

