Top 10 of 2010: My Church Journey

For the next few days I want to highlight some of my favorite blogs, particularly those that pertain to the church and life as a believer. These bloggers and their blogs have all impacted the way I think about the church, faith and being a believer. I hope you will get the chance to check some of them out.

6. My Church Journey
Norma Hill

Norma is a wonderful woman from Canada with lots of writing projects, but My Church Journey is the one I connect to most (since most of the others are about being a mother). She has been a very active commenter on The Ekklesia in Southern Maine and I have found her thoughts on my posts very encouraging and helpful. What I love most about her blog is reading about what she calls “the street church” which is a gathering she is part of with some of the homeless in her area. The stories are very powerful and convicting and I am glad that she has shared them with the rest of us!

From  station stop – our street church-in-the-park:

People were happily choosing clothes for themselves – but then someone else would need something they’d already picked out, but couldn’t find any more – and those who already had picked out those things for themselves, would dig into their own piles and share what they’d found with the others! They also were picking out clothes for people they knew who couldn’t make it this morning.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

2 responses to “Top 10 of 2010: My Church Journey

  • norma j hill

    Wow! Thank you! I’ve been really enjoying reading your “Top 10 of 2010” – but never in my wildest dreams did I expect my blog to be on the list!

    As you are no doubt aware, I’ve not been blogging much for quite awhile, due to health and other issues. In fact, I had to stop most of my activities for several months… but the one thing I kept doing no matter what was Sunday morning breakfast gatherings at street church – even though I’ve not had the energy to write much about them.

    But I’m feeling a lot better these days, and seeing this post today has been so encouraging – yes, I’ll be writing again! I would add, though, that I have been working on updating the Another Chance website. If you haven’t been there lately (or haven’t seen it before), it’s at http://www.anotherchanceokanagan.com … I still have a lot of work to do on the site generally, and Pastor Peter will be adding lots of his stories, as well as videos.

    I had to chuckle when you mentioned that most of my writing reflects my life as a mother. Maybe that’s partly why I’ve done so little writing at all for the last few months… my last chick recently flew the nest, and it’s been a shock to my system 🙂 But I’m also glad you mentioned that, because I am feeling encouraged to step out of my “mother” role and into new things I have sensed Father calling to!

    Wow! I am blown away! Thank you, Dan!
    And thank You, Father!

    • Dan Allen

      Norma

      Thank you for sharing your stories and experiences with us! Thank you for sharing how God is working in your heart and in your life and for the great contributions you have made to conversations in the blogosphere, particularly on my blog and your own.

      I am glad that this post encouraged you, your posts have always encouraged me, and I look forward to reading more about God’s work in your life and the street church. Thanks for pointing me to the Another Chance website! I will certainly check it out.

      Dan

Leave a Reply

