The Faithful Few

Yesterday as I geared up to watch the Patriots play the Jets in the divisional round of the playoffs I thought, “I wonder how many sermons will be preached tonight on the faithful few who gave up watching one of the most important football games of the year (at least for Patriots fans) to be at evening services.”

I thought I was pretty awesome for being above such silliness.

And then the unthinkable happened … the Patriots lost to the stinkin’ Jets!

As I sat in my recliner with my beer and nachos in hand and stewed over how badly I hated being a Patriots fan, I thought “Man, I wish I had done something else tonight…”

Things I would rather have done in order of preference:

  1. Walked on Burning Coals
  2. Eaten worms
  3. Gone to Evening Services
  4. Read a Twilight book
About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

2 responses to “The Faithful Few

  • Jon

    It is interesting how upset we can get over things, especially sports. As kid of the 80’s and 90’s I grew up thinking nothing would be as satisfying as a Red Sox World Series Championship, a seemingly unreachable dream. And then it happened, and a few years later it happened again. I felt shortchanged after each championship, including the Pats and Celtics. Aren’t choirs of angels supposed to descend upon us after such an amazing feat?

    The fact is, after years of close interaction with my creator, having had supernatural epiphanies, seeing and helping others come to know God, a mere sports championship paled in comparison.

  • Mark

    That is awesome, Dan! And I echo Jon’s sentiments, except that my sports teams were never that successful. Let’s count them down..

    1. San Francisco 49ers (OK, I lied, I had a few good years)
    2. KC Chiefs
    3. Chicago Cubs
    4. Kansas Jayhawks basketball

    I used to believe (and really am still not fully convinced this isn’t true) that God intentionally made my teams tank, just so I wouldn’t be encouraged to continue the stupidity, and to make me see the futility of it all, like you have expressed. For several years I have felt the end of my sports watching days coming, and this year was the year. For the first time in my teenage-adult life I only watched PART of one football game, and that was part of one game. I didn’t watch any college football, haven’t watched any college basketball, and I really don’t miss it. It is as if the Lord just removed the excitement and I walked away. In reality, like Hebrews 11 says about the heroes of the faith who considered themselves strangers and aliens, at any point I could go back to my former ways, but I don’t want to!

    I love what Jon said:

    “The fact is, after years of close interaction with my creator, having had supernatural epiphanies, seeing and helping others come to know God, a mere sports championship paled in comparison”

    Although I can’t say I’ve had “many years”, I’ve had just enough of a taste to understand!

    The other thing I liked, Dan, was your placement of the evening services in your list of things you’d rather have done. I love it.

    Mark

Leave a Reply

