Bible Stories For the Kids

Read and Learn BibleWe have a one, two and three year old at home. We have started to try and do Bible stories with the older two. Something I would never have even thought of before having kids that is now a very present reality is the fact that Bible stories are hard to translate into something understandable and appropriate for two and three year olds. We have done the Noah story quite a few times but I leave out the part about all the people dying. We did the David and Goliath story but left out the part where David cuts Goliath’s head off. So I wasn’t sure where to go from there. We’ve done the Birth of Jesus, the Creation, and a couple others but it’s been hard to try to figure out which stories are appropriate and how to translate them into something the kids understand.

Well we found a very helpful tool and both we and the kids are very excited about it. We got The American Bible Society’s Read and Learn Bible, it is great. It uses the CEV and tells all the major Bible stories with lots of great pictures and a parent’s section in the back to help apply some of the stories to your kids’ lives. I looked through it and I felt like it did a great job with the death and resurrection of Christ, which was one of the things I was particularly interested to see their treatment on. We’ve really enjoyed watching the girls start to learn and ask questions about God, hearing them answer questions about Bible stories and praying along with us. We are really excited about this book, which will make a lot more of the stories accessible to the kids and hopefully continue to foster their desire to learn about God.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

2 responses to “Bible Stories For the Kids

  • Josh Honeycutt

    Dan
    I’m kind of like you in that I’ve got a 7 week old baby, and I’ve never really given much thought into childrens’ Bibles before until recently. How much can you “cut out” without losing the biblical message? How much can you “alter” in the stories to make them understandable? These are the types of questions I’ve been thinking about. I guess this is really not that much different from the task that Bible translators face when they have to translate the Bible into languages for people groups that have never had a Bible. Maybe it is different. I’m just thinking out loud.

    • Dan Allen

      Josh

      Those are all the same sorts of questions I have been asking myself and I guess it all boils down to, at least for me, the kids understanding the message. They aren’t really at an age yet to really interpret for themselves so I guess as long as whatever they are learning, whether it come from me, or from printed material, like a kid’s Bible, as long as it captures what I think the message of the text is (since I am the one making the call for my kids) then it is hopefully valuable to them. It is certainly more complicated then I would have thought before I ever really had to give it any thought!

      Dan

Leave a Reply

