Using the Apocalypse as a Shameless Plug

As you have probably heard by now, the world is going to be ending on Saturday. According to Harold Camping this Saturday is exactly 7,000 years from the day that God told Noah he would destroy the world in seven days. And we all know that to God a day is like a thousand years and all that.

This end of the world prediction is just so absurd that it isn’t even worth refuting, but, in an over-the-top kind of way it definitely demonstrates something I was talking about a couple months back: it is dangerous to try and interpret the Bible into current events. I specifically used eschatology as an example to demonstrate these dangers and never would have expected someone to come along and say “See me? I’m doing exactly what that guy warned you about!” but, as fate would have it, that guy has come along. Well I’ve got to admit he has given this a shot before, but I wasn’t blogging much at the age of ten so I didn’t have much of a venue to bring it up in at that time. He also predicted the end of the world in 1994.

When Camping’s ’94 prediction was proven wrong by, well, reality, he ended up making some changes. So here we are on the eve of the eve of the end of the world. While you are eagerly awaiting the Rapture or however it is that you understand Jesus coming back for his followers, might I recommend reading my Reactionary Eschatology series:

And, if you decide that this is really the End, and that maybe zombies will be part of the End then I would also recommend checking out Zombie Theology for Christian advice and encouragement in living through the zombie apocalypse.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

10 responses to “Using the Apocalypse as a Shameless Plug

  • The Mrs.

    “What? You’re human too?! You should read my blog!”

  • The Mrs.

    “what?! You’re moms in the hospital?! you should read my blog!”

  • Dan Allen

    Now you’re getting it!

  • The Mrs.

    “hey, person I’ve never met. I have a blog. About zombies. Read it.”

  • Dan Allen

    I’m like snake oil salesman! What’s wrong with you? I’ve got the cure at someekklesia.wordpress.com

  • Alan Knox

    I agree with “The Mrs.” Your blog is not the answer to everything. My blog, on the other hand… Well, except, I don’t write about eschatology.

    -Alan

  • Bob McLeod

    I wish I had time to write a better comment, but I’m a little busy getting ready for the rapture. Do you know how hard it is to get someone to water your plants? It’s taken me a long time to get them looking like they do (I love miracle-grow). I almost sold my house but the closing would have been on Monday and that just wouldn’t work for me. We’ve been going out to eat every night this week. I wonder if it’s a sin to max out your credit card knowing you won’t be around to pay it off? Tomorrow I’m going down to Men’s Wearhouse to get a new suit. When Jesus show’s up, “I’m gonna love the way I look”.

    See ya in the air.

    • Dan Allen

      Bob

      I can’t tell you how amazing this comment is! BTW, didn’t you know that you have to stay in purgatory until you get your credit cards paid off? I thought that was common knowledge.

      Dan

  • tee shirts

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my
    iPad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views.

    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

