Top 10 of 2010: The Assembling of the Church

For the next few days I want to highlight some of my favorite blogs, particularly those that pertain to the church and life as a believer. These bloggers and their blogs have all impacted the way I think about the church, faith and being a believer. I hope you will get the chance to check some of them out.

1. The Assembling of the Church
Alan Knox

It is hard to express the impact that The Assembling of the Church has had on me, my family, and many many others. Not just the blog, but the author, Alan Knox, who has been a mentor and friend to me and I am sure many others both in his local area and online. I know that he was a huge influence and encouragement in the development of my theology, particularly my ecclesiology. He has been a huge encouragement to me to show love and concern for the people God puts in my life. Most of the blogs I pointed out in the previous Top 10 of 2010 posts I found through Alan’s blog. I seriously appreciate the effort that Alan puts into both his online community at The Assembling of the Church (averaging over 16 posts a week, not to mention responding to comments and reading and commenting on other blogs), and his local community. If you want to learn what it means to be the church, The Assembling of the Church is a great place to find some direction in the posts, the comments, and the links to other blogs. Comments are always welcome and answered with respectful and thorough responses. While I know many people who are part of the community at The Assembling of the Church are much smarter than me, I never feel that my comments are treated as ignorant or silly. Seriously, it is a great blog by a great author, with a great community of readers and commenters.

From a recent post, I didn’t know something was missing:

When people move away from “fellowship” as a covered dish meal, and their eyes are opened to how they can experience the community of the Holy Spirit with one another, they begin to see what they’ve been missing. When those who are following Jesus Christ step away from “discipleship classes” and truly begin to share life with one another, they also start to understand what they’ve been missing.

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

11 responses to “Top 10 of 2010: The Assembling of the Church

Leave a comment